Georgia O’Keefe Poppies

This was my first time bringing a Georgia O’Keefe lesson to a classroom and for some reason I was a little nervous! I led students through a directed draw, using wiggly and straight lines.  I took advice from some fellow art teachery bloggers and didn’t let students use pencil first and I’m glad I did! We used oil pastels to draw the flower and then watercolors to paint the petals and background.  Students used warm colors for the flower and blue or purple for the background.  The end product was amazing.

I love this quote by O’Keefe, “I found I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn’t say any other way – things I had no words for.” 

Below is the image we used as inspiration.

red-poppy

 

 

Leave a Reply

